Advanced Search ›
My account
€ 0,00
progress indicator
Adding product...
Do not delete this link

Robert Gower: The Oxford Book of Lent and Easter: Organ

Instrumental Album | Sheet Music & Songbooks
Instrumentation Organ
Composer Robert Gower
Editor Robert Gower
Publisher Oxford University Press

The Oxford Book of Lent and Easter Organ Music brings together a superb array of repertoire for use from Ash Wednesday through to Pentecost, providing a comprehensive volume for this extended liturgical period. The pieces—largely based on well-known hymn tunes—vary in style and length, suiting a range of purposes, from processionals and interludes to voluntaries and recital works. A range of technical difficulty makes the book useful for players of differing abilities, and clean and uncluttered scores leave interpretative decisions to the performer. An invaluable resource for a major part of the church year.

  • 34 pieces for manuals and pedals, suitable for use from Lent through to Pentecost
  • Seven brand-new commissions by important names such as David Briggs, Naji Hakim, and Francis Jackson
  • A variety of musical forms, including preludes, toccatas, fanfares, and variations
  • Covers 17th to 21st centuries, from major historic organ composers including Scheidt, Mendelssohn, and Reger, through 20th-century luminaries Harris and Leighton, to contemporary figures such as Malcolm Riley, David Bednall, and Christopher Tambling
  • Original organ compositions plus new arrangements of favourites from Handel's Messiah and J. S. Bach's St Matthew Passion
  • An index of hymn tunes, and pieces arranged in liturgical order
Difficulty Intermediate-Advanced
Store Sheet Music & Songbooks
Product Format Instrumental Album
Pages 128
ISBN 9780193386235
Edition Number 9780193386235
Catalog No. OUP9780193386235
Do not delete this link
€ 32,60
Only 3 remaining Usually ships in 24 hours



  1. Aus Der Tiefe Rufe Ich [Bach, C. P. E.]
  2. O Mensch, Bewein' Dein' Sünde Gross [Bach, J. S.]
  3. Toccata: Aberystwyth [Bednall, David]
  4. Aus Tiefer Not Schrei Ich Zu Dir [Geist, Christian]
  5. Chorale Prelude: Abridge [Lang, C. S.]
  6. Aus Der Tiefe [Leighton, Kenneth]
  7. Chorale Prelude: Martyrdom [Parry, Hubert]
  8. Valet Will Ich Dir Geben [Bach, J. S.]
  9. Prelude: Winchester New [Bullard, Alan]
  10. Valet Will Ich Dir Geben [Reger, Max]
  11. Wir Setzen Uns Mit Tränen Nieder [Bach, J. S.]
  12. Herzliebster Jesu [Brahms, Johannes]
  13. Chorale Prelude: Caswall [Hurford, Peter]
  14. Meditation: Love Unknown [Jackson, Francis]
  15. Chorale And Variation: Herzlich Tut Mich Verlangen [Mendelssohn, Felix]
  16. Chorale Prelude: Rockingham [Parry, Hubert]
  17. Jesu Leiden, Pein Und Tod [Reger, Max]
  18. Prelude: Were You There? [Sowerby, Leo]
  19. Song 13 (Orlando Gibbons) [Whitlock, Percy]
  20. Paraphrase On A Chorus In Judas Maccabaeus (Handel) [Guilmant, Alexandre]
  21. Variations: O Filii Et Filiae [Hakim, Naji]
  22. I Know That My Redeemer Liveth (Messiah) [Handel, G. F.]
  23. Fantasy: Easter Hymn [Harris, William H.]
  24. Variations: Noël Nouvelet [Moore, Philip]
  25. At Easter-Tide [Stanford, Charles Villiers]
  26. Chorale Prelude On A Melody By Melchior Vulpius [Willan, Healey]
  27. Heut' Triumphieret Gottes Sohn [Bach, J. S.]
  28. Ricercare: Llanfair [Briggs, David]
  29. Fanfare: Gopsal [Willcocks, David]
  30. Komm Heiliger Geist, Herre Gott [Buxtehude, Dietrich]
  31. Chorale Prelude: Down Ampney [Popplewell, Richard]
  32. Chorale Prelude: Hereford [Riley, Malcolm]
  33. Veni Creator Spiritus [Scheidt, Samuel]
  34. Fanfare: Shine, Jesus, Shine [Tambling, Christopher]

The Oxford Book Of Lent And Easter Organ Music reviews verified by reevooReevoo

Quality of content
Value for money
Overall rating
Scores 9.0 out of 10 based on 5 reviews
10 out of 10


Banchory GB
Excellent for the busy organist. Well presented and easy to read.
Reviewer left no comment
Confirmed purchase: 24 August 2018
Published on: 10 September 2018
8 out of 10


Leicester GB
A good range of relevant Chorale Prelude pieces of various styles from intermediate difficulty upwards, set out in easy to access order of season including Ascension and Pentecost.
Lacking performance notes and information: whilst this may do for some accomplished performers, it is welcoming for many to read a short preface on each piece whether for guidance or information only. Without this it can appear as though little editorial effort has been made, except for selection alone. This would not be to intrude on the musical scores as it can be listed at the beginning. For example, a note on the religious significance of each hymn or how the words are expressed in the music could be of benefit, especially as all the pieces are based on hymn melodies.
Confirmed purchase: 02 January 2015
Published on: 29 January 2015
9 out of 10


Retford GB
Lovely selection of music. Score stays flat on opening.
Reviewer left no comment
Confirmed purchase: 24 October 2014
Published on: 12 November 2014
© Copyright 2020 Musicroom.com. All rights reserved.