Advanced Search ›
My account
€ 0,00
progress indicator
Adding product...
Do not delete this link

John Miller: The Guitar of Mississippi John Hurt: Guitar or Lute

Book Only | Guitar or Lute
Composer John Miller
Publisher Mel Bay Publications
Instrumentation Guitar
When John Hurt was rediscovered in 1963, he was presented with a very rare opportunity to expand and re-write his musical legacy, late in life. And he did just that, recording over seventy songs previously unrecorded by him, adding to the repertoire of thirteen titles he had recorded in 1928. In The Guitar of Mississippi John Hurt - The Rediscovery Years, John Miller focuses on performances that John Hurt recorded in between 1963 and his death in 1966, presenting transcriptions of 24 of those performances. The richness and variety of John Hurt’s music is showcased in these songs, with everything from low-down blues in E to raggy numbers in C to waltzes in D featured. Transcriptions are provided in TAB and standard notation, lyrics for all of the songs are provided, and where verse accompaniments are provided in the transcriptions, indications are given to show where the vocal sits relative to the accompaniment. Audio clips of Mississippi John Hurt playing each transcribed song are available via a download link. If you’re a fan of Mississippi John Hurt’s music, The Guitar of Mississippi John Hurt - The Rediscovery Years will give you the most complete collection of his later performances available anywhere.
Language ENG-UK
Release Date 2019
Pages 136
ISBN 9781513462899
Edition Number 30791M
Catalog No. MB30791M
Do not delete this link



  1. Got The Blues, Can’t Be Satisfied
  2. Make Me A Pallet On Your Floor
  3. Coffee Blues
  4. Trouble, I’ve Had It All My Days
  5. Moanin’ The Blues
  6. If You Don’t Want Me Baby
  7. Shake That Thing
  8. I Shall Not Be Moved
  9. Casey Jones
  10. Salty Dog
  11. Nobody Cares For Me
  12. Let The Mermaids Flirt With Me
  13. Hop Joint
  14. Lazy Blues
  15. Stockwell
  16. Keep On Knocking
  17. Hot Time In The Old Town Tonight
  18. Cow Hooking Blues
  19. Waiting For You
  20. Funky Butt
  21. Poor Boy, Long Ways From Home
  22. I Been Crying Since You Been Gone
  23. I’m Satisfied
  24. Joe Turner Blues
© Copyright 2019 Musicroom.com. All rights reserved.