Advanced Search ›
My account
€ 0,00
progress indicator
Adding product...
Do not delete this link

Graham Lock: Forces in Motion

Biography | Books about Music
Subtitle Anthony Braxton and the Meta-reality of Creative Music
Publisher Dover Publications

A #1 New Release in Jazz Music on Amazon!
'Absolutely essential reading.' — The Wire

One of modern music's towering figures, composer and multi-instrumentalist Anthony Braxton has redefined critical concepts of jazz and the wider world of creative music. The Chicago native's works range from an early piece for 100 tubas to proposed compositions for orchestras on different planets. A modern classic, Forces in Motion follows Braxton's lauded quartet on a 1985 tour of England, noting his opinions of his musical predecessors — including Charlie Parker, John Coltrane, and Karlheinz Stockhausen — as well as his thoughts on racism and poverty.
For this new 30th anniversary edition, Graham Lock provides a new chapter, detailing later encounters with Braxton and the quartet; Anthony Braxton has penned a new Afterword as well. In addition to inside views of the mind of a musical visionary, this book offers an entertaining chronicle of a touring band. Braxton's subjects run the gamut from chess and hamburgers to astrology, feminism, and ancient Egypt. Above all, it offers a captivating view of the frustrations and rewards that result from an artist's dedication of his life to creative music.
'This book should be required reading for anyone interested in my music,' Anthony Braxton has observed. 'Graham Lock writes from the perceptual plane of insight and dedication — coupled with a keen wit and a dynamic intellect. This is serious writing and thinking. I could not have been more fortunate.'

Reprint of the Da Capo Press, New York, 1988 edition, with new material added for the Dover edition.
Store Books about Music
Product Format Biography
Release Date 2018
Pages 464
ISBN 9780486824093
UPC 800759824090
Edition Number 824098
Catalog No. DOV824098
Do not delete this link
€ 17,40
Only 6 remaining Usually ships in 24 hours


There are no reviews in your language.

© Copyright 2019 Musicroom.com. All rights reserved.