Advanced Search ›
My account
€ 0,00
progress indicator
Adding product...
Do not delete this link

Olivier Messiaen: La Nativité Du Seigneur Vol. 2: Organ

Instrumental Work | Sheet Music & Songbooks
Subtitle Neuf méditations pour orgue
Instrumentation Organ
Composer Olivier Messiaen
Publisher Alphonse Leduc

Written in four volumes, La Nativité Du Seigneur, by Olivier Messiaen was written in 1935 and depicts his Roman Catholic faith. Written for Organ, this piece is considered “one of the great Organ works of all time” and as a real masterpiece, as said by R. F. Goldman, the American composer.

Divided into nine movements, each of which portrays a concept related to the birth of Jesus:
1. La vierge et l'enfant (The Virgin and Child)
2. Les bergers (The Shepherds)
3. Desseins éternels (Eternal designs)
4. Le verbe (The Word)
5. Les enfants de Dieu (The Children of God)
6. Les anges (The Angels)
7. Jésus accepte la souffrance (Jesus accepts suffering)
8. Les mages (The Magi)
9. Dieu parmi nous (God Among Us)

This second volume features the meditations 4 and 5.

Olivier Messiaen (1908-1992) was a French organist and composer passionate about Ornithology and one of the most important composers of his century. Inspired by Japanese music, he had a very special way of composing and his work can be identified by its complexity, its diatonic aspect, its harmony with limited transposition, its colour and its additive rhythms. He composed many works related to ornithology and birdsong, including the 'Bird Catalogue' in 7 volumes and the 'Treatise on rhythm, colour and ornithology' in 7 volumes.

Difficulty Intermediate-Advanced
Store Sheet Music & Songbooks
Product Format Instrumental Work
Genre Sacred
Theme Christmas
Pages 8
ISMN 9790046192692
Edition Number AL19269
Catalog No. AL19269

Score Sample

  1: PDF
Do not delete this link



  1. Le Verbe
  2. Les Enfants de Dieu
© Copyright 2021 Musicroom.com. All rights reserved.