Advanced Search ›
My account
€ 0,00
progress indicator
Adding product...
Do not delete this link

Poul Ruders: Ruders String Quartet No. 4: String Ensemble

Set of Parts | String Ensemble
Composer Poul Ruders
Publisher Edition Wilhelm Hansen
Instrumentation String Quartet

Set of parts for String Quartet No.4 by Poul Ruders, dating from 2012.

Score available: WH31600

Programme Note:
It might be of interest for some to note, that a gap of only six months separates the writing of my second and third quartets (1979), but a 33 year interval stands between the third and the present piece, String Quartet No. 4.
Which is in five movements and is about nothing but itself. The first movement 'Adagio - Presto alla breve - Adagio' is an overture of sorts, lifting the lid, as it were, on the odd bit of what happens later on in the other movements.
A portal into: The second movement 'Vivo scherzando', which is just that: a short (2 minutes only) fast and jocular piece leading up to the next movement: 'Adagio sognante', a slow and hushed dream-world, paving the way for the pièce de resistance of the entire quartet: 'Presto alla breve', a ferociously fast tour de force for the four players, who, with that one under their belts, can lean back a little (but only a little) and put the whole thing gently to bed in the fifth and final movement: a simple 'Adagio'.

Off the record: my first string quartet (1972) has been withdrawn and is no more, a fact that renders the numbering of the subsequent quartets a matter of personal conviction.

Poul Ruders, November 2012

Product Type Set of Parts
Release Date 2014
Pages 76
ISBN 9788759825808
Edition Number WH31600A
Catalog No. WH31600A
Do not delete this link


© Copyright 2019 Musicroom.com. All rights reserved.