Advanced Search ›
My account
€ 0,00
progress indicator
Adding product...
Do not delete this link

Poul Ruders: Dreamland: String Ensemble

Set of Parts | String Ensemble
Composer Poul Ruders
Composer Edgar Allan Poe
Publisher Edition Wilhelm Hansen
Instrumentation Soprano Voice, Clarinet and String Quartet

Set of parts for Dreamland (2010) for Soprano, Clarinet, and String Quartet.
Text by Edgar Allan Poe, 1844.

Score: WH31171

Preface / Programme Note

When looking for an interpretation on the internet of Edgar Allan Poe´s DREAMLAND, it turns out that there are as many interpretations as there are interpreters. Some believe it is the mad hallucinations of a drug addict (could be Poe himself), others see it as Poe´s equivalent of Dante´s INFERNO – a tale from the Underworld.
One thing is certain, though. DREAMLAND is a ”fantasy”, the vision of a dreamvoyager arriving at and staying in a mythical location beyond and between space and time, a place of strange majesty and surreal spectacles, such as: “Mountains toppling evermore into seas without a shore”. At the same time it is a “peaceful, soothing region” – a mystical ”wonderland” not unlike the fabled Eldorado, whichis mentioned in the poem.
Poe biographer Arthur Hobson Quinn called it “one of Poe´s finest creations”,with each phrase contributing to one effect: a human traveler wandering betweenlife and death.
DREAMLAND first appeared in print in America in the June 1844 issue of Graham´s Magazine, and was subsequently published in a June 1845 edition of The Broadway Journal.

Poul Ruders, July 2010

Language ENG-UK
Product Type Set of Parts
Release Date 2012
Pages 60
ISBN 9788759871577
Edition Number WH31171A
Catalog No. WH31171A
Do not delete this link


© Copyright 2019 Musicroom.com. All rights reserved.