Advanced Search ›
My account
€ 0,00
progress indicator
Adding product...
Do not delete this link

Symfoni Nr. 2 - Snapshot Symphony: Mixed Choir

Vocal Score | Mixed Choir
Publisher Edition Wilhelm Hansen

Niels Marthinsen's Symphony No. 2 - Snapshot Symphony (2009).

1st movement Fiesta Mexicana: fortissimo accelerando (ca. 6 minutes)

2nd movement Arabian Nights: adagio intensivo e furioso (ca. 11 minutes)

3rd movement Great Fireworks in China: giocoso esplosivo e marcatissimo (ca. 8 minutes)


Programme note

I’ve never been to Mexico and Arabia, or to China. But I love the way those countries sound in Hollywood movies and in pop culture generally: When Clint Eastwood rides south of the border, when Disney’s Alladin or Mulan takes me far east, when arabic pop music roars past me out of the open windows of a car... and bull fighter music, and the sound of acrobatic beat-em-up’s in John Woo’s Hong Kong karate movies – and so on: powerful images splashed all over my eye balls and ear drums.

My recollections of this ethnic-pop-film-music has turned itself into a symphony. And I don’t even have to just remember what I have heard: A few internet clicks gives me access to incredible sound libraries containing live-and-kicking ethnic music from my three favorite countries, just waiting to be put together in new combinations and energize my personal imagery.

 The symphony is like a huge slide show – musical snapshots from my travels in the western pop culture versions of three exotic locations: Mexico, Arabia, and China – original and popular melodies welded together by my personal musical language and associations. I use all the effects of modern pling-plong-music plus a few of my own inventions to create a spectacular contemporary orchestral sound sporting a bee hive of melodies from either East or West, played simultaneously, in different keys and differents tempos at once while kept firmly in place by

Product Type Vocal Score
Release Date 2013
ISBN 9788759819951
Edition Number WH31120
Catalog No. WH31120
Do not delete this link


© Copyright 2019 Musicroom.com. All rights reserved.