Advanced Search ›
My account
€ 0,00
progress indicator
Adding product...
Do not delete this link

Ophelias: Death By Water Singing: Mixed Choir

Vocal Score | Mixed Choir
Publisher Edition Wilhelm Hansen

Ophelias - Death By Water Singing (2006-2007) - Chamber Opera in 13 Scenes. Libretto by Cecilie Løveid.

Commissioned by Opera Vest (Den Nye Opera), Bergen.

Piano reduction available: WH31030

Parts are available on hire: hire@ewh.dk

Programme Note:

The Danish chronicler Saxo's Amled myth lies behind the famous Hamlet by Shakespeare, the story about a hero avenging the murder of his father the king. Saxo depicts Amled as mad - but is Shakespeare's Hamlet mad, or is he playing a role? To test Hamlet, a 'date' is arranged with Ophelia.

Hellstenius has chosen to view things from her perspective and the opera begins at the moment when she drowns herself in the stream. We look back at her experiences - falling in love with the unstable Prince Hamlet; her anticipation of becoming a queen; their rendezvous in the forest, her ensuing pregnancy and his betrayal.

Product Type Vocal Score
Release Date 2013
ISBN 9788759818848
Edition Number WH31029
Catalog No. WH31029
Do not delete this link


© Copyright 2019 Musicroom.com. All rights reserved.