Advanced Search ›
My account
€ 0,00
progress indicator
Adding product...
Do not delete this link

Hans Abrahamsen: Stratifications: Orchestra

Score Only | Orchestra
Composer Hans Abrahamsen
Publisher Edition Wilhelm Hansen
Instrumentation Orchestra
Stratifications was composed by Hans Abrahamsen in 1973-75 and was premiered in the summer 1977 by the Iceland Symphony Orchestra at the Young Nordic Music Festival in Reykjavik.

Programme note:

The stratifications referred to in the title unfold two different levels. There is the stratification of the time dimension produced by the opposition of contrasting parts; at the same time the polyphony, the presence of several simultaneously sounding layers, is of great importance to the music. By garish colours and clear-cut outlines a polyrhythmic simultaneousness of simple melodies is produced with more gestic music and other material which give a peculiar “set piece-like” effect in the sound picture. The “new simplicity” details are here woven together in a new kind of complex whole. “Stratifications” begins with a series of concretistic masklike “pictures of the music”. It is like seeing lantern slides. But this “fictive” form crackles and the music gets attentive and real. The music is in a night-mare condition, where it is not getting anywhere in spite of a great dynamic display. But finally is liberating itself and rising “in triumph”.
Language ENG-UK
Difficulty 4
Product Type Score Only
Release Date 2002
ISBN 9788759859179
Edition Number WH29689
Catalog No. WH29689
Do not delete this link


© Copyright 2019 Musicroom.com. All rights reserved.