Advanced Search ›
My account
€ 0,00
progress indicator
Adding product...
Do not delete this link

Erich Wolfgang Korngold: Die Tote Stadt Op. 12: Orchestra

Study Score | Orchestra
Composer Erich Wolfgang Korngold
Publisher Schott Music
Instrumentation Orchestra

This masterpiece, composed by Erich Wolfgang Korngold when he was only 23, was one of the great stage successes of the 1920s and 30s before being removed from theatre schedules by the National Socialists. Rediscovered in the 1970s, it has enjoyed continuing popularity ever since. The libretto was compiled by the composer’s father, the music critic Julius Korngold, writing under the pseudonym ‘Paul Schott’, a combination of the name of the protagonist and the publishing house.

A vivacious theatre group comes to liven up the gloomy city of Bruges (here, a symbol of death) and the widower Paul is forced to decide between the past and the present. Korngold was fascinated by this symbolic plot and created an iridescent orchestral score washed in vivid colours. A variety of operatic devices are intermingled as if viewed through a kaleidoscope: opulent melodic arias, advanced harmonies, psychoanalytic profundity and cinematic transitions oscillating between reality and dream worlds guarantee the continuing modernity of this work up to the present day.

Subtitle Oper In Drei Bildern
Product Type Study Score
Duration 1:25:00
Pages 700
ISMN 9790001164429
ISBN 9783795711764
Edition Number ETP 8113
Catalog No. SCHETP8113
Do not delete this link


© Copyright 2019 Musicroom.com. All rights reserved.