Advanced Search ›
My account
€ 0,00
progress indicator
Adding product...
Do not delete this link

Nico Muhly: Step Team: Mixed Ensemble

Score Only | Mixed Ensemble
Composer Nico Muhly
Publisher St Rose Publishing
Instrumentation Ensemble

Nico Muhly's Step Team for 9 players. Full score.

'Stepping is a form of almost militaristic dancing involving the entire body as well as the voice. The routines are highly choreographed and precise but maintain an expressive freedom that comes out of the energy required to pull off the moves. In writing this piece for the Chicago Symphony MusicNOW, I wanted to avoid too much delicate, pointillistic writing and instead focused on making the nine players function as one team with a singular rhythmic agenda. Whenever the Chicago Symphony comes to New York, I am always impressed with the massive steakhouse-style proportions of the brass sound, so, this score features the Bass Trombone as a guide for the harmonic and lyrical material.

At a certain point in the piece, the rhythmic unisons begin to break down, and individual players or groups of players start slowing down or speeding up against the pulse. The Bass Trombone works as a unifying element here, announcing the changes between sections. Some scattered pulses ensue, and the brass section continuously shepherds the other instruments back into line. Step Team ends with a duet between the Bass Trombone and the Piano, with a series of ornaments from the other players.' - Nico Muhly

Instrumentation: Flute, Bassoon, Horn in F, Tenor Trombone, Bass Trombone, Piano, Violin, Viola, Cello

Language ENG(UK)
Product Type Score Only
Pages 40
EAN 5020679149607
Edition Number SRO100082
Catalog No. MUSSRO100082
Do not delete this link


© Copyright 2019 Musicroom.com. All rights reserved.