Advanced Search ›
My account
€ 0,00
progress indicator
Adding product...
Do not delete this link

Andrew Cusworth: There Is No Rose (Novello New Choral Series): Mixed Choir

Book Only | Mixed Choir
Composer Andrew Cusworth
Publisher Novello and Co Ltd.
Instrumentation SATB
There is no rose may be considered as having three distinct but musically interlinked phases. The first is reflective in nature, a set of musings on the mysteries of Mary as the Mother of God, the nature of God, Creation and the Trinity; the music lends a sense of the rising expectation appropriate to the season of Advent. This increasing tension breaks out into the angelic chorus Gloria in excelsis Deo, a brief glimpse of something other which is then echoed by the fading repetitions of Gaudeamus (we rejoice). Finally, the poem moves on, joining the procession towards Christmas; a new key, the expanding range, and Transeamus (we go/proceed/cross over) fading into the distance serve to provide a musical metaphor for the journey.

The Novello New Choral Series is an inspiring selection of new works from a range of contemporary composers, offering pieces for all types of choirs, including sacred and secular works from simple, four-part settings to more expansive, yet accessible, repertoire in an exciting variety of styles. This collection is perfect for choirs looking to broaden their repertoire and explore some of the best new music around.

Andrew Cusworth (b.1984) read music at Magdalene College, Cambridge, where he was also an Organ Scholar. Recent compositions include Factum est silentium for double choir and organ, which won the first New Music for St Paul’s Cathedral Composition Competition, and Give ear, O ye heavens, which was shortlisted for the King James Bible Trust Composition Awards.

'This is a piece whose effect greatly exceeds its simple means and it would be welcome in any serious carol service.' - Jeremy Summerly, Choir & Organ

Series Novello New Choral Series
Product Type Book Only
ISBN 9781780381817
Edition Number NOV292116
Catalog No. MUSNOV292116
Do not delete this link


Related products that you may like

© Copyright 2019 Musicroom.com. All rights reserved.