Advanced Search ›
My account
€ 0,00
progress indicator
Adding product...
Do not delete this link

Ed Hughes: Sky Blue: Clarinet

Score Only | Clarinet
Composer Ed Hughes
Publisher University Of York Music Press
Instrumentation Clarinet and Orchestra

Ed Hughes' Sky Blue for solo Clarinet and Orchestra. A3 Conductor's score.

'This concerto for Clarinet and Orchestra is approximately eight minutes long.

It was composed especially for Alison Hughes (clarinettist) and the University of Sussex Symphony Orchestra.

Sky Blue is inspired by a painting of the same name made in 1940 by Wassily Kandinsky in which figures appear to float free across a clear blue sky. The painting has been described (by Mona Molarsky, 2009) as 'an ethereal, Miró-like confection with biomorphic squiggles that buzz like glimmering insects in the afternoon sun'.

The music is a continuous single movement with moments of harmonic transparency contrasting with sections of greater modal complexity. There are some sections which also feature soloists in the Orchestra, perhaps like the free-floating figures in Kandinsky's painting.' - Ed Hughes (June 2014)

Language ENG(UK)
Product Type Score Only
Pages 44
ISMN 9790570365487
Edition Number M570365487
Catalog No. MUSM570365487
Do not delete this link


© Copyright 2019 Musicroom.com. All rights reserved.