Advanced Search ›
My account
€ 0,00
progress indicator
Adding product...
Do not delete this link

Kevin Volans: Chakra For Three Percussionists: Percussion Ensemble

Book Only | Percussion Ensemble
Composer Kevin Volans
Publisher Chester Music
Instrumentation Percussion[Trio]
Commissioned by Sisu with the assistance of the Arts Council of Ireland and the Fond for lyd og bilde, Oslo.

Written for Sisu.

Each player has 8 drums played with sticks (one high set and one lower set) chosen for their non-ethnic sound quality, and 1 bass drum played with a footpedal. The drums should be tuned in equal steps of roughly a tone apart, each set of drums (starting with the highest set of player 1) being roughly a tone lower than the one above, so that all the drums notated on the second lowest line of the stave (for example) should have the same pitch. The drums should be tuned in a scale of equal steps, each slightly smaller than a whole tone. There should be no minor thirds, if possible. The higher set of 4 drums are notated in the spaces and should be roughly equivalent to rototoms or bongos, the lower set is notated on the lines of the stave and should be roughly equivalent to tom-toms or congas. The bass drum is notated at the bottom of the stave with stems facing downwards.

Product Type Book Only
Release Date 2009
Edition Number CH75152
Catalog No. MUSCH75152
Do not delete this link



  1. Chakra
© Copyright 2019 Musicroom.com. All rights reserved.