Advanced Search ›
My account
€ 0,00
progress indicator
Adding product...
Do not delete this link

Sir Peter Maxwell Davies: Strathclyde Concerto No. 4 (Clarinet Part): Clarinet

Book Only | Clarinet
Composer Sir Peter Maxwell Davies
Publisher Chester Music
Instrumentation Clarinet and Piano
Davies's feeling for the potency and bravura of the clarinet goes back to works of the 1960s; his concerto for the instrument is predictably a big, ranging piece, in two linked movements. The first, fast with a brief slow introduction, has the soloist in propulsive melodic flights slipping over into florid runs, but it is a virtuoso piece for the orchestra, especially for the marimba and pair of horns. The Adagio that follows is in the spare, cold, birdcall-riven style of other recent Davies slow movements, exploiting first the clarinet's low register and then, at its climax, the instrument's high extremes. A cadenza leads to the coda, where Davies introduces a Scots tune, previously hinted at, with which he brings the work to an end in F sharp major.
Clarinet part with piano reduction of the orchestral score.
Product Type Book Only
Release Date 1999
Pages 64
ISBN 9780711933545
Edition Number CH60876
Catalog No. MUSCH60876
Do not delete this link



  1. Strathclyde Concerto No. 4
© Copyright 2019 Musicroom.com. All rights reserved.