Advanced Search ›
My account
€ 0,00
progress indicator
Adding product...
Do not delete this link

Bohuslav Martinu: Concerto No2: Cello

Book Only | Cello
Composer Bohuslav Martinu
Publisher Associated Music Publishers
Instrumentation Cello and Piano
This is one of the best Cello concertos of the twentieth century, and readily communicates the Bohuslav Martinu strong feelings for his homeland. Written over the Christmas and New year period of 1944-45 in New York, it is full of his reactions to that last dramatic winter of the war and the desire to go home.

It is an expansive work, over 35 minutes in length, in the standard three movements. Typically for Martinu, the first movement is in Moderato tempo. The opening gesture is highly characteristic: A pulsing rhythm establishes itself in the orchestra and a striving, rising theme with a contradictory rhythm contends with it. The second movement, Andante poco moderato, has a general pulse that is not much slower than that of the first. It is episodic, with a faster central section and then a truly magical and heartfelt treatment of the main subject, in which Martinu expresses his longing for home. The final movement, Allegro, is a driving, energetic conclusion with a solo cadenza that breaks the ongoing rhythm and provides a touching moment of contemplation before the joyous conclusion. This edition contains a Piano reduction of the Orchestral part for rehearsal purposes.
Series String
Product Type Book Only
Size 279 X 216
Pages 48
UPC 073999811070
Edition Number GS81107
Catalog No. HL50481107
Do not delete this link


Related products that you may like

Book Only
€ 35,40
Set (Score & Parts)
€ 36,80
Set (Score & Parts)
€ 42,60
Set (Score & Parts)
€ 53,80
Study Score
€ 5,70
Set of Parts
€ 42,60
Set (Score & Parts)
€ 12,10
Set (Score & Parts)
€ 49,60
© Copyright 2019 Musicroom.com. All rights reserved.