Advanced Search ›
My account
€ 0,00
progress indicator
Adding product...
Do not delete this link

Claude Debussy: La Mer: Orchestra

Score Only | Orchestra
Composer Claude Debussy
Editor Douglas Woodfull-Harris
Publisher Bärenreiter-Verlag
Instrumentation Orchestra

Claude Debussy's La Mer is an impressionistic work through and through. The three symphonic sketches that make up the work were composed between 1903-1905, however Debussy refined this work up until at least 1913. These corrections are found in a score which the composer gave to his wife as a present for her private library in 1913.

The new scholarly-critical edition draws on several important sources previously unavailable to musicologists, resulting in an array of new readings and corrections. In addition, there are many changes, especially in terms of articulation and dynamics.

This new edition includes the famous “fanfare” in Movement III, clearly marked in small print and brackets. This fanfare was excised in the 1910 reissue of the work, but was reinstated by a number of great conductors who knew Debussy, i.e. Monteux, Münch, Mitropoulos and Ansermet. They felt that the excision was a misunderstanding and that the fanfare was necessary for the structure of the movement. And so, the Bärenreiter edition presents the revival of a performing tradition which is committed to the fanfare.

  • New Urtext edition with numerous corrections in comparison to other editions.
  • Important sources which were previously inaccessible have been taken into account.
  • Score and orchestral parts in large format (25.5 x 32.5cm).
  • Score and orchestral parts with an impeccable, generous layout.
  • Includes an informative introduction (Eng/Fr/Ger), facsimiles, source descriptions and a Critical Commentary (Eng).

Subtitle Trois Esquisses Symphoniques
Product Type Score Only
Pages 154
ISMN 9790006529438
Edition Number BA7880
Catalog No. BA7880
Do not delete this link


© Copyright 2019 Musicroom.com. All rights reserved.