Advanced Search ›
My account
€ 0,00
progress indicator
Adding product...
Do not delete this link

Max Reger: Sacred Choral Music a cappella: Mixed Choir

Score Only | Mixed Choir
Composer Max Reger
Editor Michael Chizzali
Publisher Bärenreiter-Verlag
Instrumentation SATB

2016 marks the first centenary of the death of Max Reger. In addition to his best-known field of creativity – Organ music – his choral compositions form another major part of his oeuvre.

This edition contains a selection of his sacred a cappella choral works. Their scoring, level of difficulty and length make them ideal for choirs who are wary of tackling the large-scale Op.110 motets. For the first time, the selection of works includes the previously unpublished Acht Grabgesänge (1900). The pieces are arranged in chronological order, culminating in the well-known cycle of Acht geistliche Gesänge op. 138 (1914).


  • Tantum ergo Sacramentum (1895)
  • Maria Himmelsfreud! (1899-1900)
  • Acht Grabgesänge (ca. 1900)
  • Acht Marienlieder op. 61d (1901)
  • Sechs Trauergesänge op. 61g (1901)
  • Palmsonntagmorgen (1902)
  • Vier Kirchengesänge (1904)
  • Easter motet: Lasset uns den Herren preisen (1911)
  • Abschiedslied (1914)
  • Acht geistliche Gesänge op. 138 (1914)

The Editor
Michael Chizzali has been a scholarly assistant at the Institute of Musicology in Weimar-Jena (Germany) since 2014. His dissertation on Reger’s contemporary, the Tyrolean composer Josef Gasser (1873-1957), was published in Innsbruck in 2014.

  • All extant sources consulted
  • Edition for the first centenary of Reger’s death
  • Cross-section of Reger’s music for a cappella choir
  • Foreword (Ger/Eng) and Critical Commentary (Eng)

Product Type Score Only
Release Date 2016
Pages 94
ISMN 9790006561070
Edition Number BA 7549
Catalog No. BA7549
Do not delete this link



  1. Tantum ergo Sacramentum (1895)
  2. Maria Himmelsfreud! (1899-1900)
  3. Acht Grabgesänge (ca. 1900)
  4. Acht Marienlieder op. 61d (1901)
  5. Sechs Trauergesänge op. 61g (1901)
  6. Palmsonntagmorgen (1902)
  7. Vier Kirchengesänge (1904)
  8. Easter motet: Lasset uns den Herren preisen (1911)
  9. Abschiedslied (1914)
  10. Acht geistliche Gesänge op. 138 (1914)
© Copyright 2019 Musicroom.com. All rights reserved.