Advanced Search ›
My account
€ 0,00
progress indicator
Adding product...
Do not delete this link

Jean-Baptiste Breval:Sonata C Major Op. 40 No. 1

Instrumental Work | Sheet Music & Songbooks
Composer Jean-Baptiste Breval
Editor Christoph Sassmannshaus
Publisher Bärenreiter-Verlag
Instrumentation Cello and Piano

Jean-Baptiste Bréval (1753–1823) was a member of the orchestra at the Paris Opéra and also a prolific composer. His works include concertos for cello, string quartets, comic operas and a violoncello tutor.

However he is best-known for the Sonata in C major which has become a standard work for teaching purposes, even in arrangements for other instruments. The two movements (Allegro and Rondo Grazioso) can also be performed independently from one another. This sonata belongs to the basic repertoire of every young cellist.

  • Ideal for the first “proper” recital
  • Of moderate technical difficulty but with brilliant impact
  • Duration: approx. 8 minutes
  • Difficulty Intermediate
    Store Sheet Music & Songbooks
    Product Format Instrumental Work
    Genre Classical
    Release Date 2018
    Pages 19
    ISMN 9790006564590
    Edition Number BA 10698
    Catalog No. BA10698
    Do not delete this link



    1. Má písen zas mi láskou zní
    2. Mein Lied ertönt, ein Liebespsalm
    3. I chant my lay, a hymn of love [Dvorák, Antonín]
    4. Aj! Kterak trojhranec muj
    5. Ei! Ei, wie mein Triangel
    6. Hark! Hark, how my triangle [Dvorák, Antonín]
    7. A les je tichý kolem kol
    8. Rings ist der Wald so stumm und still
    9. Silent and lone the woods around [Dvorák, Antonín]
    10. Kdyz mne stará matka
    11. Als die alte Mutter
    12. Songs My Mother Taught Me [Dvorak, Antonin]
    13. Struna naladena
    14. Reingestimmt die Saiten
    15. Tune thy strings, oh gypsy! [Dvorák, Antonín]
    16. Siroké rukávy
    17. In dem weiten, breiten
    18. In his wide and ample [Dvorák, Antonín]
    19. Dejte klec jestrábu
    20. Darf des Falken Schwinge
    21. Cloudy heights of Tatra [Dvorák, Antonín]
    22. Rings ist der Wald so stumm und still First Version [Dvorák, Antonín]
    23. Rings ist der Wald so stumm und still Second Version [Dvorák, Antonín]
    © Copyright 2019 Musicroom.com. All rights reserved.