Joaquin Rodrigo: Concierto De Aranjuez (Eulenburg Miniature Score)

Books | Guitar, Orchestra

Publisher: Eulenburg
Composer: Joaquin Rodrigo
Format: Books | Study Score

The first of Joaquin Rodrigo's attempts at composition for the concerto genre Concierto De Aranjuez quickly became the most popular and recognizable of his works. Written for Solo Guitar and Orchestra, it reveals the composer's great affinity for those two mediums, as well as his reverence for the long-standing traditions of Spanish Classical music. It was composed in 1939 after Rodrigo's return to Madrid from France (where he had fled to escape the Spanish Civil War), and premiered to great success in 1940.

The Concierto De Aranjuez is notable for the way in which Rodrigo managed to wed unusual instrumentation of the relatively small voice of the solo guitar to that of the full orchestra. With a nod to Spanish folk music and straightforward lyrical disposition it is an extremely imaginative piece with meandering melody and distinctive colour throughout.

Eulenberg's celebrated and highly authoritative miniature score is the definitive reference source for study, performance preparation, or simply for those with a love of the great orchestral works.

ISBN: 9783795762421
Skill Level: Advanced Explain this
No of pages: 92
Language: English, German
Catalogue No: E1809