Sergei Prokofiev: Violin Concerto No. 2 (Study Score)

Books | Violin, Orchestra

Publisher: Boosey & Hawkes
Composer: Sergei Prokofiev
Format: Books | Study Score
Prokofiev’s second Violin Concerto was premiered on 1st December 1935 in Madrid, Spain, with the French violinist Robert Soëtens playing the solo Violin part, accompanied by the Madrid Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Enrique Arbós. When writing the concerto Prokofiev was on tour with Robert Soëtens, who commissioned the work, and so the work was composed while the composer was in many different locations.

This concerto is more conventional than some of Prokofiev’s early compositions, which were, perhaps, more bold and adventurous. The piece begins with a graceful melody played by the violin, which reflects those melodies typical to traditional Russian folk music, and pervades the second movement, Andante assai. The third movement’s ‘rondo’ theme, however, has a Spanish feel.

Available here is the Hawkes Pocket score edition (No.732) of Prokofiev’s vibrant and exciting Violin Concerto No.2 in G Minor Op.63, which is ideal for study and perusal use.
Skill Level: Advanced Explain this
No of pages: 84
Length: 26
Language: English
Catalogue No: M060020650

        Sergei Prokofiev: Violin Concerto No. 2 (Study Score) reviews verified by reevooReevoo

        Quality of content
        Value for money
        Overall rating
        Scores 3.0 out of 10 based on 1 review
        3 out of 10


        manchester GB music lover
        this is the only version in pocket score available in uk
        not a good print of the score-the print is very small
        making it difficult for me to read but its the only one available!!
        Confirmed purchase: 01 April 2016
        Published on: 19 April 2016

        Recently Viewed