Sergei Prokofiev: Piano Concerto No.2 In G Minor Op.16 (Study Score)

Books | Piano, Orchestra

Publisher: Boosey & Hawkes
Composer: Sergei Prokofiev
Format: Books | Study Score
Interestingly there are two different versions of Prokofiev’s second piano concerto, the first written between 1912 and 1913, the second written in 1923. However, during the Russian Civil War, the original manuscript of the Concerto was destroyed in a fire in Prokofiev’s apartment in St. Petersburg. In 1923 he recreated the score from memory, effectively composing the second edition of the work, which was very different. Prokofiev wrote to a friend: I have so completely rewritten the second concerto that it might be considered the fourth (his third piano concerto having been written in the meantime).

At the time of composition, the concerto's wild temperament left some exalted, whereas others were horrified by the jarring and at the time futuristic sound. Today, however, it is generally recognised as a masterpiece and is one of the most virtuosic works in the piano concerto repertoire.

Available here is the Hawkes Pocket Score edition (No.877) of Prokoviev’s virtuosic Piano Concerto No.2 in G minor Op.16, and is ideal for study and perusal usage.
ISBN: 9790060020551
Skill Level: Advanced Explain this
No of pages: 144
Length: 23
Language: English
Catalogue No: M060020551

        Frequently bought together

        Price for both - £45.98