F. Schubert: Octet In F Op.Post.166 D 803 (Study Score)

Books | Chamber Group

Publisher: Bärenreiter
Composer: Franz Schubert
Format: Books | Study Score

Octet in F major Op.post.166 D 803 for Clarinet (in B-flat), Bassoon, Horn, Violin (2), Viola, Violincello, Double Bass

“I have done little new by way of lieder. In compensation I have tried my hand at several instrumental things, for I have composed two quartets for Violins, Viola and Violincello [A minor, D 804; D minor, D 810] and an octet [F major, D 803] and will write yet another quartet [not carried out]. Indeed, in this way I hope to prepare the way to the full-scale symphony. The latest news in Vienna is that Beethoven will give a concert [on 7 May 1824] ...I too am inclined to give a similar concert next Year, God willing.”

Thus Schubert, writing on 31 March 1824 to his friend Leopold Kupelwieser in Rome, in a lengthy letter whose first section is decidedly low-spirited. In order to prepare the way to the full-scale symphony – by which he doubtless meant the genre as a whole rather than any specific work – he wrote string quartets and a large-scale piece of chamber music for strings and winds, taking Beethoven as his guide.

  • Urtext of the New Schubert Edition
  • Parts (BA5617) and study score format 22.5 x 16.5cm (TP302) available for sale

ISBN: 9790006202614
Skill Level: Advanced Explain this
Published on: 22 March 1993
No of pages: 128
Language: English
Catalogue No: TP302

      Recently Viewed