Franz Joseph Haydn: Streichquartette Op.20 (Urtext Score)

Books | String Quartet

Publisher: Henle Verlag
Composer: Franz Joseph Haydn
Format: Books | Study Score
Joseph Haydn's String Quartets Op.20 were composed in 1772 according to the date of the autographs. They are the last group in the series of string quartets with the opus numbers 9, 17, 20, composed a long time after the early string quartets, in the years around 1770. Following these compositions, several years were to pass before once again before Haydn wrote his next string quartets for a long while following completion of Op.20 does not necessarily imply that he was having a 'crisis'; it might have had to do with the increasing load on Haydn occasioned by the regular performances at the Eszterhaza opera house, leaving him with little time for other activities.
Published on: 02 April 2009
No of pages: 108
Language: English, French, German
Catalogue No: HN9208

      Musicroom Reviews

      Excellent. Fast response, thank you.
      Anonymous - (Shrewsbury, United Kingdom)

      Recently Viewed