Bent Sørensen: Schreie Und Melancholie - String Quartet No.4 (Score)

Books | String Quartet

Composer: Bent Sorensen
Format: Books | Study Score
Premiered by the Arditti String Quartet at the Institute of Contemporary Arts ICA London 22nd October 1995.

Programme note:

SCHREIE UND MELANCHOLIE is dedicated to the Arditti Quartet and was commissioned with support from the Danish Arts Foundation. In the summer of 1993 I worked briefly on some sketches for a choral suite with texts by Georg Trakl. The project was abandoned, but the moods from Trakl's poetry, in which 'scream' and 'melancholy' are key words, stuck in my mind when I began working on my fourth string quartet. This is music full of high siren-like wails and almost infinitely descending glissandi which permeate a landscape of warped tonal harmony. SCHREIE UND MELANCHOLIE is in four movements, played attacca. The third movement is a barcarole - a memory of an autumn in Venice.
(Bent Sørensen)
ISBN: 9788759808016
Skill Level: Advanced Explain this
No of pages: 56
Length: 23
Language: English
Catalogue No: WH30295B