Mule: 48 Études D'après Ferling (Nvlle Ed.Augment.De 12 Études Nouvelles)saxophone

Books | Saxophone

Catalogue No: AL20402

Quarante-huit Études by Marcel Mule (1901-2001) is a set of 48 exercises for all Saxophones by Franz Ferling and enlarged with twelve new studies by Mule. Made for intermediate/advanced players, this is a rich material to develop style and virtuosity.

Ferling’s book “48 studies” was lacking exercises on some tonalities. Marcel Mule therefore added those missing pieces dealing with the following enharmonic tones: C flat major, A flat minor, G flat major, C sharp major, A sharp minor and D sharp minor. He took great care of keeping the original style of Ferling’s studies to obtain an harmonious set throughout this book.

Marcel Mule (1901-2001) is one of the greatest French Saxophonist, renowned worldwide for his work on the classical Saxophone repertoire. He was teaching his students how to obtain a good quality of sound and believed it was dependent on embouchure, the emission, the mastery of vibrato and thus of breathing. He wrote different methods that focus on technique, articulation and tone productions such as Dix-huit Exercices ou Études, Exercices Journaliers d’après Terschack or 30 Grands Exercices ou Études d’après Soussmann (in two books), among others.

ISBN: 9790046204029
Published on: 31 December 1989
Language: English
Publisher: Alphonse Leduc

      Etudes 48 By Ferling New Enlarged Edition reviews verified by reevooReevoo

      Quality of content
      Value for money
      Overall rating
      Scores 9.5 out of 10 based on 2 reviews
      10 out of 10


      Burston, Norfolk GB
      Study for a lifetime....
      Reviewer left no comment
      Confirmed purchase: 28 November 2016
      Published on: 12 December 2016
      9 out of 10


      Reeves GB amateur saxophone player
      It is in the London College grade 8 performance exam
      quite challenging
      Confirmed purchase: 20 August 2015
      Published on: 03 September 2015