Joseph Haydn: Die Sieben Letzten Worte Unseres Erlösers Am Kreuze (The Seven Last Words On The Cross)

Books | String Quartet

Publisher: Henle Verlag
Composer: Franz Joseph Haydn
Format: Books | Study Score
At the end of the 18th century, the town of Cádiz in southern Spain provided the backdrop for a Passion to mark Christ’s hour of death; its focal point was the reading and interpretation of Christ’s last words. Haydn was commissioned to write short meditative music to be played alternately with the readings. Haydn composed a work for orchestra. Due to its success, the publisher commissioned Haydn to make an arrangement for string quartet. As the wind instruments double the strings for the most part, only a few changes had to be made to the string parts.

Here is the Henle Urtext Study Score of Joseph Haydn's The Seven Last Words of Christ arranged for String Quartet, based upon on the musical text of the Haydn Complete Edition.

Also available as part of a 12 part set including all Haydn's works for String Quartet, Cat. No. HN9216

Language: English
Catalogue No: HN9771

      Musicroom Reviews

      This is a good study score with a well researched foreword and thorough explanations of editorial decisions.
      Anonymous - (Banbury, United Kingdom)