Johannes Brahms: Streichquartett Op.67 (Henle Urtext Edition)

Books | String Quartet

Publisher: Henle Verlag
Composer: Johannes Brahms
Format: Books | Study Score

Brahms had already composed over 20 String quartets (he confessed to a friend that he had burnt all of that “stuff”) before he finally presented his Opus 51 to the public. In the end only three surviving works managed to withstand his high self-criticism; numerous layers of corrections bear witness to his struggle with each detail. We are now publishing the two passionate, dark Quartets Op. 51 separately from the rather more lively Opus 67. The basis for this edition is the volume in the New Complete Edition of Brahms’ works, published in 2004 by Henle, for which previously missing sources in a Swiss bequest were consulted for the first time.

ISBN: 9790201890418
Language: English, French, German
Catalogue No: HN9041

      Musicroom Reviews

      I found the Urtext versions quite hard to find, so was very pleased to find Musicroom stocked it. Price was good also, and although it had to be ordered in specially the delivery time was better than estimated.
      Anonymous - (Suffolk, UK)