Jon Paxman: Classical Music 1600–2000 - A Chronology


Publisher: Omnibus Press
Author: Jon Paxman
Format: Books | History

Jon Paxman's Classical Music 1600–2000 - A Chronology interprets four centuries of Western classical music, considering its evolution from two different perspectives.

Each of the eight chapters covers a 50-year period, tracing stylistic progressions with particular reference to musical genres and geographical locations.

A corresponding Chronology explores the lives of individual composers, patrons, publishers, impresarios, conductors and performers, so providing a cultural and social framework that helps put each musical development into a broader historical context.

Monumental in scope but lucid in style, this book will prove invaluable to anyone — student or enthusiast — who wants to comprehend the overwhelmingly rich and sometimes complex evolution of Western classical music.

Classical Music 1600–2000 - A Chronology features contributions by Terry Barfoot, Katy Hamilton, Thomas Lydon and Robert Rawson.

An excellent resource for students, teachers and composers at any stage in their development.” - Sir John Tavener

A great reference tool for anyone who wantsto explore the history of music.” - Philip Glass

Lavishly designed … allows the listener and the student to enjoy both detailed and very zoomed-out snapshots of the overlapping political and personal conflicts that shaped musical history.” -Nico Muhly

ISBN: 9781844497737
Published on: 06 October 2014
No of pages: 703
Language: English
Catalogue No: OP50677