Jacques Ibert: Concertino Da Camera For Alto Saxophone And Eleven Instruments (Study Score)

Books | Alto Saxophone, Chamber Group

Publisher: Alphonse Leduc
Composer: Jacques Ibert
Format: Books | Study Score

Concertino Da Camera, written in 1935 by Jacques Ibert (1890-1962) is a small concerto for Alto Saxophone and eleven instruments: Flute, Bassoon, Oboe, Horn, Trumpet and Strings.

This concertino in two movements, Allegro con moto and Larghetto – Animato Molto, is dedicated to the saxophonist Sigurd Rascher and stands out for its large use of the Alto Saxophone. It can be technically challenging and has a strong lyrical part.

This volume is the pocket version of the score.

Its author, Jacques Ibert (1890-1962) is a neoclassical composer who won the Prix de Rome in 1919. He composed many symphonic suites, operas and seven orchestras, including 'Angelique' (1926) and 'Divertissement' (1930). He also was in charge of the Accadémie de France in the Villa Médicis (Roma) and was later administrator for the Paris Opera.

This concerto has some similarities with is Flute Concerto (1934), also published by Alphonse Leduc.

ISBN: 9790046269318
Language: English, French
Catalogue No: AL26931