Olivier Messiaen: Et Exspecto Resurrectionem Mortuorum (Study Score)

Books | Orchestra

Publisher: Alphonse Leduc
Composer: Olivier Messiaen
Format: Books | Study Score

Composed in 1964, Et Exspecto Resurrectionem Mortuorum is a religious piece by Olivier Messiaen which title means “And I wait for the resurrection of the dead”. Commissioned by André Malraux, this orchestra lasts approximately 35 minutes and was written for the commemoration of the dead in the world wars.

It features five movements:
I. "Des profondeurs de l'abîme, je crie vers toi, Seigneur: Seigneur, écoute ma voix!"
II. "Le Christ, ressuscité des morts, ne meurt plus; la mort n'a plus sur lui d'empire."
III. "L'heure vient où les morts entendront la voix du Fils de Dieu..."
IV. "Ils ressusciteront, glorieux, avec un nom nouveau -- dans le concert joyeux des étoiles et les acclamations des fils du ciel."
V. "Et j'entendis la voix d'une foule immense..."

This is the conductor's score which includes all parts.

Olivier Messiaen (1908-1992) was a French Organist and composer passionate about Ornithology and one of the most important composers of his century. Inspired by Japanese music, he had a very special way of composing and his work can be identified by its complexity, its diatonic aspect, its harmony with limited transposition, its colour and its additive rhythms. He composed many works related to ornithology and birdsongs, including the Bird Catalogue in 7 volumes and the Treatise on rhythm, colour and ornithology in 7 volumes.

ISBN: 9790046236815
No of pages: 92
Length: 35
Language: English, French
Catalogue No: AL23681