Olivier Messiaen: Chronochromie (Study Score)

Books | Orchestra

Publisher: Alphonse Leduc
Composer: Olivier Messiaen
Format: Books | Study Score

Completed in 1960, Chronochromie is a famous orchestral piece composed by Olivier Messiaen.

This edition, published as a book, features the conductor’s score with all the following instruments: 16 First Violins, 16 Second Violins, 14 Violas, 12 Cellos, 10 Double Basses, 1 Piccolo, 3 Flutes, 3 Oboes, 4 Clarinets, 3 Bassoons, 1 Piccolo Trumpet, 3 C Trumpets, 4 F Horns, 3 Trombones, 1 Tuba, Suspended And Chinese Cymbal, 1 Glockenspiel, 1 Xylophone, 1 Marimba.

It is written in seven movements: Introduction, Strophe I, Antistrophe I, Strophe II, Antistrophe II, Epode and Coda; and The Epode features birdsong and is played by 18 of the string instruments. Olivier Messiaen (1908-1992) was a French organist and composer passionate about Ornithology and one of the most important composer of his century. Inspired by Japanese music, he had a very special way of composing and his work can be identified by its complexity, its diatonic aspect, its harmony with limited transposition, its colour and its additive rhythms. He composed many works related to ornithology and birdsong, including the 'Bird Catalogue' in 7 volumes.
ISBN: 9790046230776
No of pages: 228
Length: 30
Language: English, French
Catalogue No: AL23077

      Recently Viewed