Oliver Messiaen - L'ascension Pour Orgue

Books | Organ, Score

Catalogue No: AL18826
Composer: Olivier Messiaen

Olivier Messiaen (1908-1992) is known for his unique composition style. Incorporating complex rhythms, harmony and melodies, L'Ascension for Organ is no exception to the composer's popular, distinctive style.

L'Ascension was originally composed for orchestra by Messiaen in 1932-1933. The composer described the work as Four Symphonic Meditations and the sections are; 1) Majesty of Christ praying that His Father should glorify Him, 2) Serene Alleluias from a soul longing for Heaven, 3) Alleluia on the Trumpet, Alleluia on the Cymbal, and 4) Prayer from Christ ascending towards His Father. Messiaen arranged L'Ascensionfor solo Organ a year later. The first, second and fourth movements are arrangements of the orchestral version, however, the composer created a new third movement; Outburst of joy from a soul before the Glory of Christ, which is its own glory. L'Ascension is essential to all advanced organists seeking to expand and vary their repertoire.

ISBN: 9790046188268
Length: 30
Language: French
Publisher: Alphonse Leduc

        Frequently bought together

        Price for both - £68.90

        Recently Viewed