J.S. Bach: Complete Organ Work - Volume 9: Eighteen Chorals Of Leipzig

Books | Organ

Publisher: Alphonse Leduc
Format: Sheet Music | Score

Part of the Organ collection by J. S. Bach, this Volume IX Eighteen Chorals Of Leipzig (BWV 651-668) was composed between 1740 and 1750, in Leipzig. This volume is now translated in English and French and features the annotation of Marcel Dupré, a French organist, to help the performer getting the most of the music sheet.

This ninth book contains a set of eighteen religious preludes: 

1. Come, Holy Ghost
2. Come, Holy Ghost
3. By the rivers of Babylon
4. Deck thyself, o my soul
5. Lord Jesus Christ, unto us turn
6. O stainless Lamb of God
7. Now thank we all our God
8. From God I will not turn
9. Come now, Saviour of the Heathen
10. Come now, Saviour of the Heathen
11. Come now, Saviour of the Heathen
12. Glory to God on high
13. Glory to God on high
14. Glory to God on high
15. Jesus Christ, our Saviour
16. Jesus Christ, our Saviour
17. Come, God, Creator, Holy Ghost
18. Before thy Throne, I now appear

Some of this prelude contains toccatas, sarabandes, fugues, ritornellos and many ornaments. Quite varied, they can also be either joyful or full of lamentations.

The preface of these Eighteen Chorals Of Leipzig is well written, with explanations of the comments and descriptions of the techniques to use for a good interpretation of this work.

ISBN: 9790046277238
Language: English
Catalogue No: AL27723

        Frequently bought together

        Price for both - £17.49