Amy Quate: Light Of Sothis For Saxophone And Piano

Books | Piano, Saxophone, Score

Publisher: Alphonse Leduc
Composer: Amy Quate

Contemporary composer Amy Quate works in a wide variety of musical styles, forms and media. Composed in 1982 and dedicated to saxophonist Debra Richtmeyer, Light of Sothis creatively depicts the brightest star in heaven.

Sothis, now called Sirius, is the star aspect of the goddess Isis, whose light confines the cycles of nature which bring beauty, prosperity and life. It is believed that Sothis blesses us with sacred illumination and it is this which Quate depicts in Light of Sothis. In three movements, Grace, Passion and Faith, the Saxophone line has lyrical melodies contrasted with dramatic scalic passages, covering the entire range of the instrument. Suitable for intermediate level saxophonists, a performance Quate's Light of Sothis proves to be an enticing prospect.

ISBN: 9790046271908
Language: English, French
Catalogue No: AL27190

        Frequently bought together

        Price for both - £22.98

        Amy Quate: Light of Sothis reviews verified by reevooReevoo

        Quality of content
        Value for money
        Overall rating
        Scores 8.5 out of 10 based on 2 reviews
        9 out of 10


        chester le street GB keen amateur
        interesting piece (grade 7)
        suggestions for playing
        available recordings
        Confirmed purchase: 08 July 2015
        Published on: 23 July 2015

        Recently Viewed