Henri Dutilleux: Ainsi La Nuit (String Quartet) (Score)

Books | String Quartet

Publisher: Heugel
Composer: Henri Dutilleux
Format: Books | Study Score

Composed between 1973 and 1976, Ainsi La Nuit for a String Quartet is one of the most important works of its genre, byHenri Dutilleux (1916-2013), a French composer.

This score of Ainsi La Nuit is the conductor's score, with the four instruments altogether. The score for each individual instrument can be bought separately.

Commissioned by the Koussevitzky Foundation for the Juilliard Quartet, Ainsi La Nuit is based on a series of studies, lasts 18 minutes and is divided into 7 sections: 

1. Nocturne
2. Miroir d'espace
3. Litanies
4. Litanies II
5. Constellations
6. Nocturne II
7. Temps suspendu

Built on single hexachords, it also use the octatonic mode and focus on harmonies, contrasts and oppositions of register. 

Henri Dutilleux was internationally acclaimed for his work winning prizes such as the Gold Medal of the Royal Philharmonic Society and the UNESCO's International Rostrum of Composers, among many others. His work also includes a Piano sonata, two symphonies, the Violin concerto 'L'arbre des songes' (The tree of dreams) and the Cello concerto 'Tout un monde lointain' (A whole distant word).
ISBN: 9790047326096
Length: 17
Language: English, French
Catalogue No: HE32609

      Recently Viewed