Scott Yanow: Classic Jazz - The Essential Listening Companion


Publisher: Backbeat Books
Author: Scott Yanow
Format: Books | Reference
Third Ear - The Essential Listening Companion. Classic Jazz explores the birth and early development of a truly American art form. Scott Yanow's insightful essays describe the very beginnings of jazz, as well as ragtime, early blues, and New Orleans jazz from 1895-1916. Jazz in the years 1917-1933 is examined in greatest detail, highlighting the careers and rating the recordings of the top performers of the day. Musicians covered include: Louis Armstrong, Cab Calloway, Hoagy Carmichael, Bing Crosby, Tommy Dorsey, Duke Ellington, George Gershwin, Benny Goodman, Earl Hines, Gene Krupa, Glenn Miller, Jelly Roll Morton, Bessie Smith, Fats Waller and dozens more.

Also includes a listing of recommended books and videos on classic jazz, and 40 black-and-white photos.

ISBN: 9780879306595
Published on: 01 September 2009
No of pages: 298
Language: English
Catalogue No: HL00330858