Morton Gould: Declaration Suite

Books | Orchestra

Publisher: G. Schirmer
Composer: Morton Gould
Format: Books | Study Score

Declaration Suite consists of the orchestral movements from 'Declaration - a symphonic narrative' for Orchestra, two solo speakers, and speaking chorus. In its original form, the work includes a setting of the Declaration of Independence.

The composition was comissioned by Station WRC and WRC-TV of the National Broadcasting Company, Washington D. C. for the National Symphony Orchestra of that city, and was composed during the summer and fall of 1956. The National Symphony Orchestra, Dr. Howard Mitchell conducting, gave the first complete performances at the Inaugural Concert in Constitution Hall, Washington D. C., January 20, 1957 and during the Orchestra's regular subscription series the week following.

Declaration Suite was first performed by the Symphony of the Air under Dr. Mitchell, in Carnegie Hall, New York, February 14 1957, as part of the annual WNYC American Music Festival.
The movements are:I. Liberty Bell (Passacaglia)
II. Midnight Ride (Scherzo)
III. Concord Bridge (Memorial)
IV. Summer '76 (Serenade)
V. Celebration (Chorale and Fugue)

No of pages: 126
Language: English
Catalogue No: HL50456760

      Recently Viewed