Ludwig van Beethoven: Piano Sonatas In G, D Minor, and E Flat Op.31

Books | Piano

Publisher: Bärenreiter
Format: Sheet Music | Instrumental Album

With his sonatas Op.31 composed in 1802 Beethoven for the last time grouped together piano sonatas under one opus number. The centrepiece of the collection is undoubtedly the dramatic Sonata in D minor nicknamed »Tempest« which already fascinated his contemporaries. According to Anton Schindler, who asked the composer about the „key“ to this work as well as to the sonata Op.57 (»Appassionata«), Beethoven advised him: “Just read Shakespeare’s Tempest”.

Jonathan Del Mar, currently one of the most renowned Beethoven scholars, stands for a meticulously edited Urtext edition on the basis of an intensive study of all sources. Performers are presented with a musical text offering new readings and based on the latest research findings. The detailed Critical Commentary accounts for sources, readings and editorial emendations. In this edition great care has been given to a user-friendly layout which on the one hand reflects the flow and tempo of the music and on the other hand facilitates the study of this complex music by means of a transparent and clear appearance on the page as well as good page turns. Particularly enlightening is the chapter on period performance practice which sheds light on certain issues of Beethoven’s instruments and their range, the usage of the pedals, tempo, dynamics, articulation and ornaments.

  • Scholarly-critical Urtext edition at the cutting edge of scholarship
  • New readings
  • Based on an evaluation of all available sources
  • Reader-friendly layout and practical page turns
  • Informative Introduction (Eng/Ger) and detailed Critical Commentary (Eng)
  • With valuable information on historical performance practice (Eng/Ger)
ISBN: 9790006561780
Skill Level: Intermediate-Advanced Explain this
Published on: 23 August 2017
Catalogue No: BA11805

      Frequently bought together

      Price for both - £26.99