James MacMillan: Viola Concerto (Study Score)

Books | Orchestra, Viola

Publisher: Boosey & Hawkes
Composer: James MacMillan
Format: Books | Study Score

Commissioned by the London Philharmonic Orchestra, Luzerner Sinfonieorchester, Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra and Adelaide Symphony Orchestra, and first performed in 2013 by Lawrence Power with the LPO, conducted by Vladimir Jurowski.

Cast in three contrasting movements this work is expressive, energetic and highly virtuosic, culminating in a breathless Allegro pitting the soloist against the orchestra.

A major addition to the canon of concertante works by James MacMillan, and to the Viola repertoire in general. Full orchestra materials available on hire. Suitable for advanced standard performers.

ISBN: 9781784542887
Skill Level: Advanced Explain this
Published on: 25 May 2017
Language: English
Catalogue No: BH13332

      Recently Viewed