Reger: Sacred Choral Music A Cappella

Books | Choral

Publisher: Bärenreiter
Composer: Max Reger
Format: Sheet Music | Vocal Work

2016 marks the first centenary of the death of Max Reger. In addition to his best-known field of creativity – Organ music – his choral compositions form another major part of his oeuvre.

This edition contains a selection of his sacred a cappella choral works. Their scoring, level of difficulty and length make them ideal for choirs who are wary of tackling the large-scale Op.110 motets. For the first time, the selection of works includes the previously unpublished Acht Grabgesänge (1900). The pieces are arranged in chronological order, culminating in the well-known cycle of Acht geistliche Gesänge op. 138 (1914).


  • Tantum ergo Sacramentum (1895)
  • Maria Himmelsfreud! (1899-1900)
  • Acht Grabgesänge (ca. 1900)
  • Acht Marienlieder op. 61d (1901)
  • Sechs Trauergesänge op. 61g (1901)
  • Palmsonntagmorgen (1902)
  • Vier Kirchengesänge (1904)
  • Easter motet: Lasset uns den Herren preisen (1911)
  • Abschiedslied (1914)
  • Acht geistliche Gesänge op. 138 (1914)

The Editor
Michael Chizzali has been a scholarly assistant at the Institute of Musicology in Weimar-Jena (Germany) since 2014. His dissertation on Reger’s contemporary, the Tyrolean composer Josef Gasser (1873-1957), was published in Innsbruck in 2014.

  • All extant sources consulted
  • Edition for the first centenary of Reger’s death
  • Cross-section of Reger’s music for a cappella choir
  • Foreword (Ger/Eng) and Critical Commentary (Eng)

ISBN: 9790006561070
Skill Level: Advanced Explain this
Published on: 16 May 2016
No of pages: 103
Language: German
Catalogue No: BA7549

          Recently Viewed