A. Dvorak: Symphony No. 7 In D Minor Op.70 (Study Score)

Books | Orchestra

Publisher: Bärenreiter
Composer: Antonin Dvorak
Format: Books | Study Score

Dvorák's Symphony No. 7 In D Minor Op.70. Foreword by Dvorák scholar Smaczny (Cz/Eng/Ger)

Dvorák’s Seventh Symphony was commissioned by the Royal Philharmonic Society in August 1883 and premiered in London on 22 April 1885, conducted by the composer himself. Two months later, Dvorák shortened the second movement by about 40 bars. The work was published by Simrock in this form in 1885.

In 2013 Bärenreiter published the score and orchestral parts in a first scholarly-critical edition of Dvorák’s Seventh Symphony (BA 10417). It is now being issued as a study score. The editor, Jonathan Del Mar, has already won international acclaim for his editions of the Dvorák Cello Concerto (BA 9045) as well as of works by Beethoven and Elgar. He has taken every source into account, including the extant correspondence.

Like the score and parts, this study score presents the original version of the second movement in the appendix. A new foreword has been added by Dvorák scholar Jan Smaczny.

Skill Level: Advanced Explain this
Published on: 29 January 2016
No of pages: 221
Catalogue No: TP617