Zhou Long: Five Elements - Chinese & Western Instruments

Books | Orchestra

Composer: Zhou Long
Format: Books | Study Score

Zhou Long's Five Elements for Flute, Clarinet, Percussion, Piano, Violin and Violoncello.

The concept of the Five Elements was a central aspect of traditional Chinese thought. Here each of the Five Elements is characterised in an individual movement. In the first movement metal is represented by metallic Percussion, while in the second movement Marimba and Claves are used to portray wood. In the third movement a slower and expansive texture is employed to signify water, and rhythmic drumming is used to illustrate the heat of fire, the subject of movement four. A majestic yet peaceful final movement portrays Earth, where all the elements are transformed into a perfect balance.

ISBN: 9780193412811
Skill Level: Advanced Explain this
Published on: 24 December 2015
No of pages: 60
Language: English
Catalogue No: 9780193412811