Zhou Long: Postures

Books | Orchestra

Composer: Zhou Long
Format: Books | Study Score

Zhou Long's Postures for solo Piano and full Orchestra.

This work opens with a form of Shaman-dance from North-east China, during which the Piano mimics some of the animal postures seen in the art of kung fu. Pianobells, the more lyrical and lightly orchestrated second movement, takes two contrasting Bells (Mighty Bells and Frost Bells) as its narrative throughout. The third and final movement, which is intended to represent the Peking Opera Monkey's action, is a wild and intense finale with rapid rhythmic patterns from the Percussion. This concerto is exciting, lively, and highlights the Piano as a virtuoso Percussion instrument.

ISBN: 9780193412774
Skill Level: Advanced Explain this
Published on: 10 December 2015
No of pages: 112
Language: English
Catalogue No: 9780193412774

    Recently Viewed

    Zhou Long: Postures