Bedrich Smetana: Vltava (The Moldau) Study Score

Books | Orchestra

Publisher: Bärenreiter
Composer: Bedrich Smetana
Format: Books | Study Score

New Urtext edition with spacious engraving now available in a study score edition.

Detailed Foreword by Smetana authority Olga Mojžíšová (Cz/Eng/Ger)

Vltava, also known as The Moldau, is Smetana’s best-known and most frequently performed symphonic poem. It was written in 1874 at a time when the composer was completely deaf. But it was not until 1879-80, with the completion of the entire cycle Má vlast (My Fatherland), that it was published in full score and a version for Piano duet.

Hugh Macdonald’s new edition is based on the autograph score, with cross-references to the first edition and the composer’s own version for Piano duet.

Already published:
Vltava/The Moldau
Score & performance material for sale | BA 9558
Version for Piano duet | BA 9549

ISBN: 9790260105935
Skill Level: Intermediate Explain this
Published on: 07 January 2015
No of pages: 103
Catalogue No: TP558

      Recently Viewed