J.S. Bach: Complete Organ Works - Volume 7 (Breitkopf Urtext) (Book/CD-Rom)

Books | Organ

Publisher: Breitkopf & Härtel
Format: Sheet Music | Instrumental Album

Breitkopf Urtext edition of Johann Sebastian Bach's Complete Organ Works.

  • Music text faithful to the sources and reflecting the current status of Bach research.
  • Developed for musical practice through the cooperation of scholars and performers.
  • Contains all of Bach's Keyboard works that require an independent pedal manual.
  • Contains all authentic early versions and fragmentarily transmitted or dubious works that can be attributed to Bach with a fair amount of certainty.
  • Features comprehensive introductions, extensive source descriptions and text-critical notes.
  • Features supplementary material illustrated synoptically on CD-ROM (in printable quality)
  • Brochure, in large format (32 x 25 cm) and compact music engraving, clear, easy to read, with convenient page turns.

With repertoire works, musicians often have the choice between editions conceived for practical music-making and others that are more scholarly in concept. This also applies to the Organ works of Johann Sebastian Bach, which are available today in various editions. Among them is that of Heinz Lohmann, which Breitkopf & Härtel began publishing in 1967 and whose concept strove for an amalgamation of practice and Urtext.

Current Urtext status, historically informed, edited with performers in mind:
More than 40 years later, the demands made on a new Urtext edition of Bach's Organ works are as stringent as ever before. Next to the results of scholarly research on Bach and the sources, aspects of a historically informed performance practice are increasingly claiming our attention today. Also important for study, teaching and concert performance are, in addition to the above-mentioned demands, such external criteria as format, paper, convenient page turns and an easily legible layout that helps the user quickly grasp the musical context.

The new edition, beginning in 2010, also contains all Keyboard works with pedal and the "dubious works" that are hardly dubious anymore.This edition of Johann Sebastian Bach's Organ works wants to do justice to these demands. Next to the core contents of the repertoire, it also features all of the master's "clavier" works which require an independent pedal. Moreover, it includes all authentic early versions as well as the fragmentarily transmitted works. As to the dubious works, it contains those which can be attributed to Bach today with considerable certainty.It offers incerta, early, and alternative versions on CD-ROM.

In this work group, the new edition uses for the first time the modern forms of editorial technique with which the synoptical depiction of various versions is made possible on CD-ROM. Thanks to the collaboration with the EDIROM project, which is a leader in the field of digital scientific editorial technique, the edition offers new types of solutions. Incerta, early, and alternative versions that cannot be included in the printed volumes for reasons of size or problems of authenticity, are published on CD-ROM, supplied with comments, and depicted synoptically. Thus, after comparing the versions, the player can decide upon a different version than the one printed in the volume, and can make a high-quality print-out of it. The texts and comments customary to the "Breitkopf Urtext" editions comprehensive introductions, extensive source descriptions and text-critical observations can be found in the printed version of the volumes.

Edited by a competent team:
With Werner Breig (Erlangen), Pieter Dirksen (Culemborg/Netherlands) and Reinmar Emans (Bochum), a.o. we have brought together a team that guarantees the highest expertise in various domains. Further Bach experts such as Sven Hiemke (Hamburg), David Schulenberg (Boston) and Jean-Claude Zehnder (Basel) were also enlisted for the edition of single volumes.

ISBN: 9790004183762
Skill Level: Intermediate-Advanced Explain this
Published on: 26 January 2015
Language: English
Catalogue No: EB8807

        Frequently bought together

        Price for both - £20.49