Claude Debussy: La Mer (Study Score)

Books | Orchestra

Publisher: Bärenreiter
Composer: Claude Debussy
Format: Books | Study Score

New Urtext edition with numerous corrections in comparison to other editions.

Important sources which were previously inaccessible have been taken into account.

Following the recent publication of the full score and performance material to Debussy’s La Mer (BA 7880), Bärenreiter now presents the study score edition of this “impressionistic” masterpiece.

The new scholarly-critical edition draws on several important sources previously unavailable to musicologists, resulting in an array of new readings and corrections. In addition, there are many changes, especially in terms of articulation and dynamics.

This new edition includes the famous “fanfare” in Movement III, clearly marked in small print and brackets. This fanfare was excised in the 1910 reissue of the work, but was reinstated by a number of great conductors who knew Debussy, i.e. Monteux, Münch, Mitropoulos and Ansermet. They felt that the excision was a misunderstanding and that the fanfare was necessary for the structure of the movement. And so, the Bärenreiter edition presents the revival of a performing tradition which is committed to the fanfare.

ISBN: 9790006205455
Skill Level: Advanced Explain this
Published on: 17 October 2014
Language: English
Catalogue No: TP780

      Recently Viewed