Ralph Vaughan Williams: The Solent

Books | Orchestra

Format: Books | Study Score

Marking the first publication of an early work for chamber orchestra, this study score presents Ralph Vaughan Williams's The Solent, composed in 1903.

The main theme from this work will be recognisable to many listeners, as it later found its way into both the Sea Symphony and the Ninth Symphony, albeit in a somewhat altered form. This duplication has intrigued many Vaughan Williams' scholars, as has the Philip Marston quotation that prefaces the scores: 'Passion and sorrow in the deep sea's voice, A mighty mystery saddening all the wind?'.

The score has been edited by James Francis Brown and includes an introduction by the editor.

ISBN: 9780193399419
Skill Level: Intermediate-Advanced Explain this
Published on: 14 January 2014
No of pages: 44
Language: English
Catalogue No: 9780193399419

    Recently Viewed