Ralph Vaughan Williams: Serenade In A Minor (1898)

Books | Orchestra

Format: Books | Study Score
This is the first publication of Vaughan Williams's earliest substantial work for orchestra, composed 1897-8 and premiered in April 1901.

This attractive work already shows evidence of the composer's emerging musical style and sure grasp of orchestral techniques. Its five movements display much variety and sense of overall architecture, with a sombre opening Prelude, a fleet-footed Scherzo, a graceful Intermezzo and Trio, a delicate Romance, and a boisterous Finale.

This new edition has been carefully prepared from the original manuscript by Julian Rushton and comes with full textual commentary. Orchestral material is available on hire/rental.
ISBN: 9780193379565
Published on: 30 July 2012
No of pages: 144
Length: 30
Language: English
Catalogue No: 9780193379565

    Recently Viewed