Vijay Iyer : Selected Compositions Of Vijay Iyer 1999-2008

Books | Ensemble, Piano

Composer: Vijay Iyer
Format: Sheet Music | Instrumental Album
Vijay Iyer is one of the most significant contemporary composers and performers on the piano. This manuscript represents a compilation of small group compositions by Iyer during a period from 1999 to 2008.

The bulk of the pieces were originally written for Vijay's quartet with altoist Rudresh Mahanthappa, bassist Stephan Crump, and drummers Marcus Gilmore, Tyshawn Sorey, and Derrek Phillips, and are documented on the albums Panoptic Modes (2001), Blood Sutra (2003), Reimagining (2005), and Tragicomic (2008).

The music features experimentation on rhythmic techniques, harmony, orchestration, soloing structures, and macro-form, with an overriding focus on sound and feel. This volume contains contrasting compositional approaches so as to give the reader an insight into the broad spectrum of compositional language and devices employed by Iyer.
ISBN: 9780786683598
Published on: 22 February 2012
Language: English
Catalogue No: MLB22261

    Recently Viewed